Infinite Sea Book Review

Hey all!

Another review!  Please remember these are just my opinions. If they differ from yours, I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments. Our differences in opinions make us who we are. Embrace it. 🙂

I tried my best to avoid spoilers.

The Infinite Sea
Rick Yancey
September 16, 2014

This was a fantastic second book. I read it in one night…couldn’t put it down until I was finished.

Sometimes the second book in a series falls prey to what I like to call the “middle book syndrome.” The middle book doesn’t have enough story to stand alone, and just ends up being a bridge between the first and last book. It ends up being the weakest of the three.

In this case, I don’t think “middle book syndrome” was much of an issue. There was a ton of action, character development was fantastic, and the mystery of the book was still very strong.

This book does a great job of continuing that sense of dread and paranoia from the first book. We never get a straight answer about the aliens, Vosch, or the Silencers. We get a lot of interesting back story on some of the characters- a lot of Ringer back story and a little Evan back story.

Cassie is still the main character, but this book focuses much of the story on Ringer. She switches from secondary character to main player. She’s polar opposite of Cassie, which is why I find it so interesting flipping back and forth between their POVs. Where Cassie is compulsive, Ringer is calculated. When Cassie is emotional, Ringer is logical. In the Infinite Sea, we get quite a bit of back story on Ringer, and learn a bit about why she is the way she is. A lot of the action of this book revolves around Ringer as well. The paranoia and questioning plays a huge role in Ringer’s story- her encounters with Vosch bring more questions than answers and it really makes you want to read the final book as quickly as possible.

No hope without faith, no faith without hope, no love without trust, no trust without love. Remove one and the entire human house cards collapses.

All in all, I think this was a fantastic second book. I don’t want to say much more because I don’t want to spoil this for anyone. My suggestion is to definitely read this. I don’t think it will disappoint!

THE INFINITE SEA RATING: 4/5 ☆

image

Leave a Reply

