Illuminae – The Illuminae Files 01 Book Review

Hey all,

I didn’t expect to be reviewing this book so quickly, because it’s 599 pages, and I started it yesterday… if that doesn’t shed some light on how incredible I thought this book was, I don’t know what else would.

In fact, it was so good, I’m giving you my rating before I even start the review.

ILLUMINAE RATING: 5/5 ☆

Yes. You read that correctly. I found absolutely nothing wrong with this book. It was FANTASTIC. Now go read it. Seriously.

Alright…alright…I’ll give a little more thorough review, since you asked so nicely.

Illuminae – The Illuminae Files 01
October 20, 2015
Aime Kaufman
Jay Kristoff

Overview:
Kady Grant lives on Kerenza. When her planet is attacked by BeiTech, she escapes the planet on one of three rescue ships (Hypatia). With her mother Copernicus and her ex boyfriend, Ezra on Alexander, she must rely on an IM and email system to keep in contact. Relief of being rescued does not last long when the fleet realizes one of BeiTech’s ships, the Lincoln is still in pursuit of them.

Review:

Am I merciful?

Illuminae is told through messages, journals and files, and each new piece of information given is a new piece of a very complex puzzle. It is 599 pages, but it is so gripping and fast paced that I never felt overwhelmed or bogged down by details I didn’t need. Every thing you read is important to the story. I never felt like I was reading filler.

Are you afraid?”

“Yes.”

“Energy never stops, remember. It just changes forms.”

“I am still afraid.

I loved Kady and Ezra’s relationship. It felt real. Vulnerable and relatable. I really love the dialogue…which is great since most of the story is dialogue. Some conversations were funny and some were serious, but every one seemed to have its place, either driving the story or developing the character.

That’s so not your business it almost punches clean past the event horizon of Not Your Business and becomes Your Business again.

Short review for an incredible, fast paced, adrenaline pumping ride unlike anything I have read before. I could go on and on, but I dont want to spoil anything. I recommend you pick this book up and enjoy the experience of reading it. I can’t wait to pick up the second book, which is definitely going to be my next book purchase.

I had no idea how safe I was, because I’d never been unsafe.

Side note: I signed up for a free trial of audible, which gives you 3 free audiobooks. I decided to get Illuminae because I thought it would enhance my reading experience. It did! I’ve never really listened to an audiobook before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Every character was voiced by a different actor, and I just thought it was cool to listen to voices while I read through interviews, journal entries and memos. It enhanced my imagination as I read through this story. Audiobooks seem to be super expensive, so I probably wouldn’t do it again unless it was free, but it was super cool. If you have the free trial or you feel like shelling out the cash, I’d definitely recommend this one as an audiobook as well!

Let me know what you thought of Illuminae in the comments. I’d love to get different perspectives on it!

I’m guessing this will be my last book review post for a while since I have lots of other things I’d like to talk about, but you never know. 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

