Unpopular Book Opinions!

Hi there!

I’m taking a break from NaNoWriMo for a few, so I decided to try my hand at a fun blog post. I’ve seen this “tag” on YouTube by a ton of book vloggers I love to watch, and since I haven’t made a YouTube channel yet, I figured I’d do it here.

**These are my opinions and I’m not trying to offend anyone. If you have different opinions, I’d love to hear them. 🙂

 

1. A Popular Book You Didn’t Like

Divergent. Don’t yell at me. I tried really hard to get into it, and I read half the first book…I just couldn’t get through it. I think it might be because I was just coming off the high of how much I loved The Hunger Games, and it might have been too soon for me to try to jump into another Dystopian series. I’ve been spoiled on the ending, and now I’m not even sure I care…but I probably will try to read the series again, because I feel a little left out and I believe in second chances.

2. A Book Series That Everyone Hates But You Love

The Maze Runner. I know…I know…most of the reviews I’ve read said it was confusing and difficult to read. I also agree with the criticism that author James Dashner did a lot of “showing” instead of “telling” – for those of you who don’t know, when writing descriptions, you want to show the reader not tell the reader. Putting aside the obvious flaws in this book, I loved this story. I felt the characters were really well developed and I cared about what happened to them all the way through. I felt the mystery was really well thought out and I loved that it answered some questions but still left more to be discovered.

I love the movies, and unfortunately, I broke my own rule and watched the second movie before reading the second book, however, I still think I’m going to continue reading the series. My opinions may change, because I feel like I’m going to need to re-read the first book in order to continue on. I’ll let you know if that happens, but for now, I’m sticking with this as my answer.

3. A Love Triangle Where The MC Ends Up With The Person You Didn’t Want Them To End Up With.

I actually don’t have an answer for this question because so far, every love triangle has ended up the way I wanted it to. I’m sure this will change…but I haven’t been reading a lot of love triangles lately, so what immediately comes to mind is The Hunger Games and Twilight…both of which, I was satisfied with.

4. A Popular Book Genre You Rarely Reach For

Contemporary. There is nothing wrong with contemporary, and I am sure there are many books out there that I would love…but I always reach for books that have plots with crazy adventures or mysteries. I don’t really care to read about something that could actually happen. That’s probably why I’m writing a fantasy.

5. A Popular Character You Didn’t Like

Gale from The Hunger Games. I don’t hate him, and without spoiling too much, I forgive him…but I just didn’t love him. I’m team Peta for life.

6. A Popular Author You Can’t Seem To Get Into

The first author that comes to mind is John Green…and it’s not because I hate him, I think he’s a good author… it’s just not my thing.

7. Popular Trope You’re Tired Of Seeing

I’m actually not a hater when it comes to tropes. I understand why people get angry, but to me, if the story is compelling, I don’t really care if there’s a love triangle or a “chosen one”….I guess the only answer I can give you is that I’m not a fan of “insta-love.” It throws me off when someone is swooning over a person two chapters in. It’s one thing to say, “Oh, he’s hot!”…it’s another thing to say, “I’m so in loveeeee….I can’t breathe, I must be with him!”…that’s annoying and if someone you knew was acting like that in real life, you would smack them.

8. Popular Series You Have No Interest In Reading

50 Shades of Grey. I did try. I think I read part of the first book and I did watch the first movie…which I hated. I will not be seeing the next one. It’s not my thing and I find parts of the plot much more disturbing than “sexy.”

9. The Saying Goes, “the book is always better than the movie” But What Movie/TV Show Adaptation Do You Prefer To The Book?

I have a couple answers for this. As much as I enjoyed the Maze Runner, I have to say, I enjoyed the movie more. I didn’t mind the changes that were made, and I really didn’t mind watching Dylan O’Brien run around.

Pretty Little Liars – I find the TV show much more compelling than the novels. I won’t be continuing the novels, but I am excited to see the final season.

The Vampire Diaries – Same answer as Pretty Little Liars. I attempted to read the books, but I think I’ve been so emotionally invested in the TV show that the books didn’t live up to my expectations.

***

Well, there you have it! I’d love to hear your unpopular opinions, so if you decide to do this, let me know in the comments so I can read your post. I’m going to get back to writing now. I hope you have a great weekend and I will type to you soon.

Until next time!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

