Independence Day: Resurgence – Movie Review

Hello again! Tonight, I’m reviewing Independence Day: Resurgence. I have to start off by saying how excited I was to see this movie. If you couldn’t tell from my review yesterday, I absolutely loved the original. Of course, I went into this stoked but also cautious because we’ve all seen Hollywood try to re-make or sequel originals and fail hard. I was pretty optimistic about this though.

**This review might contain some spoilers. It definitely will spoil the original. Please consider watching both movies before reading these reviews…unless you don’t care. 🙂

This movie takes place 20 years after the original movie. We defeated the aliens and then used their technology to revamp our own. We now have super high tech anti-alien protection technology. I found this concept believable. If aliens invaded and we won, we would probably use the technology left over to advance our own and better prepare ourselves in case it ever happened again.

The first on my list of disappointments with this movie is the fact that Will Smith is not in this.

tumblr_ogdjkrymp51slsalco2_500

He is mentioned, but I found it incredibly disappointing because his character was so FANTASTIC in the original. Seeing the entire cast together again would have been phenomenal. I also found it kind of cheap the way they wrote him out. It would have been cooler if they had found a way to make it possible for him to return to future movies.

As far as acting goes, I don’t feel this movie hit its mark. Liam Hemsworth was sub-par, and so were the other “younger generation” soldiers fighting the aliens. Unlike in the original, I felt myself trying to remember who was who because there wasn’t a whole lot of character development going on in. I found myself not caring when I should, not laughing when I should…the impact of the dialogue was forgettable.

The original cast of characters saved the day in my opinion. Seeing Jeff Goldbum, Bill Pullman, and Brent Spiner were fantastic. It was fun to see them playing these roles again.

Continuing on with my complaints on characters, there were SO MANY kids introduced and I felt like they had no purpose. There were 3 (or 4?) kids who lost their mom, and eventually joined up with David’s (Jeff Goldbum) father…and I am still trying to figure out what their purpose in the movie was. I guess they had a purpose, and I don’t want to spoil it, but I think there were a million other ways to reunite David and his father without bringing in more characters I didn’t really care about.

This movie relied heavily on special effects, which were cool in their own right, but I have to be completely honest…the entire thing felt like a remake, rather than a sequel. The same alien race returned, and characters died off in similar ways to the original, hell there was even a dog that almost got killed and was saved at the last minute.

independence-day-2

I wanted to love this movie. There are some redeeming qualities. I really liked that we were able to dig a little deeper into the aliens and why they were invading. We even got to see a bit of how they lived on the ship. I was a fan of the special effects…and I think it’s mostly because I find it really awesome that they are able to make things look so real. Sure, it was pretty reliant on them, but it was still cool to look at.

All in all, I think they could have tried a bit harder to make this movie different from the original. Using the same cookie cutter plot was a mistake and I think that’s what hurt this movie the most. Had it been a more unique story (but still felt like Independence Day), I don’t think it would have done as badly as it did. I still hope maybe there will be a third movie…it was left off on a bit of a cliff hanger and I want to see a redemption movie that comes back and does well. I guess we will see.

tumblr_nzbi46h7gq1s2wio8o10_1280

RATING: 3/5 ☆

That’s all I have for you tonight. I hope you enjoy, let me know what you thought of this movie.

Until next time!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

