It Follows – Movie Review

Hi everyone!

Before I get into this review, I just wanted to start by mentioning, I haven’t taken down Chapter One of Alter Reach yet. I initially intended to leave it up for one week, but I haven’t felt the need to remove it yet. (I was concerned about copyright, but so far, I haven’t had anything to worry about) Not sure if I will take it down or leave it up, but that means you should go read it now while you still can. Thanks for all the support so far. On to the review!

**As always, I will attempt to keep this as spoiler free as possible, but it’s best to watch the movie before reading if you want to go in without an ideas.

I have been waiting to see It Follows for a little over a year. Two Halloween’s ago, my husband and I were searching for a horror movie to watch. We stumbled upon It Follows while browsing Vudu (which is a movie renting service, kind of like red box, but you don’t have to leave your living room). For those of you who don’t know, my husband is not a fan of gore, so we have to be kind of careful about the movies we choose, because somethings really get to him (and me. I’m not into hack and slash films either). We debated renting It Follows, but decided we didn’t want to spend money on a movie that we weren’t sure we could get through. Fast forward to a couple days ago when I found It Follows on Netflix! I was so excited. I asked my husband if he wanted to see it, and he said no, so I watched it alone.

Synopsis (taken from It Follows Facebook Page):

For 19-year-old Jay, the fall should be about school, boys and weekends at the lake. Yet, after a seemingly innocent sexual encounter she suddenly finds herself plagued by nightmarish visions; she can’t shake the sensation that someone, or something, is following her. As the threat closes in, Jay and her friends must somehow escape the horrors that are only a few steps behind.

I spent a good portion of this movie freaked out. I felt this sense of dread, paranoia, and fear and it almost had me wanting to turn the movie off. The plot set up has this poor main character in a predicament with no means of escape. There are ways to prolong the inevitable, but the entire time you’re watching the events unfold, you’re just waiting for Jay to meet “It” and die.

I will give this movie some major props. There are hardly any jump scares…which is definitely an awful plot device that riddles the horror genre. “It,” can be anyone, at any time and “It,” is always there or not far behind. You spend a lot of your time trying to figure out where “It” is. That’s the part that is really freaky…never really knowing when “It” will come.

The movie is shot really well. There is some really incredible camera work, and the lighting, colors and wardrobe give little clue as to when this film is actually taking place. I think that helps create an atmosphere of unknown and adds to the dread you’re already feeling when you realize there really isn’t any hope. I’ve read a few reviews that rip on the actor performances, but I’m going to disagree. Much of the negativity I read centered around the characters being boring and stupid decision makers. I actually think that adds to the atmosphere of the movie. These kids are 18 and 19, barely out of high school, and all of a sudden one of their friends is being stalked by “It” because she had sex with some dude. They are making stupid decisions because they are barely out of high school age kids who aren’t well equipped to deal with this situation. (Not that anyone would be. You’d probably do some pretty stupid stuff to try to get away from a monster that could be anyone at anytime too.)

Where this movie fell short for me was some of the scenes that “It” was revealed itself. There is a particular scene where “It” kills someone and it was just so disturbing, and out of nowhere, that it left me very confused. The first scene where “It” kills someone is so vastly different than this scene that I was left scratching my head. I found it out of place, jarring and it ruined the atmosphere for me a little.

At first, the ending had me wanting to throw my remote at the TV. It was so anticlimactic and I was so lost, I had zero patience to sit and think about it. I just spewed hate to my husband about how he dodged a bullet watching this movie.  Now that I’ve had time to think about it, and I’ve actually thought about this movie a lot since I saw it a week ago…the ending has grown on me a bit. It fits with the rest of the movie. It leaves you with questions and an uneasy feeling…much like the rest of the movie. It Follows makes you think about the movie long after the credits roll.

Was this entire movie a commentary on casual sex and STDs? I’m not really sure. I can see why your mind would take you there, but it could also have other meanings. I think that kind of thought provoking is what makes this movie okay. Unlike many horror movies which just runs down the road of hack and slash, jump scares, this movie explores another side of fear; paranoia, dread, and a sense of no hope for a happy ending.

I can’t say I’d buy it on DVD and watch it a bunch of times, but I’m not left thinking I wasted 2 hours of my life either. Let me know if you saw it, and what your thoughts on it were.

RATING: 3.7/5 ☆

One thought on “It Follows – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

