Writing Resources I Find Useful

Hi everyone! Happy weekend!

I thought I would do something a little different with this blog post. I have a few books/websites/YouTube channels I frequent pretty often when I am trying to figure out how to write certain scenes, or get a little inspiration. As a reminder, these are just a few of the MANY resources out there for writers. I just picked a couple I use on a regular basis, in no particular order. πŸ™‚

1. Master Lists for Writers – Bryn Donovan
This is such a fantastic resource. It has so many useful lists that I use on a regular basis to draw inspiration.

2. Bryan Donovan’s website
So, when I started putting together this list, I found Bryan Donovan’s blog. She has a lot of fantastic resources and lists you can look at on her blog. I enjoy having the Master Lists on my desk, but I’ve now also bookmarked her blog.

3. The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Expression – Angela Ackerman & Becca Puglisi
If you get on Amazon and check this book out, look down at the recommended books – you’ll notice there is a whole series of thesauruses that look super useful. The only one I own currently is the one linked, but I definitely recommend checking out the others. The linked book is a great resources for “showing not telling” emotions…which is such a struggle sometimes.

4. How To Make A Living As A Writer – James Scott Bell
I want to be a full time writer, and make a living off doing what I love to do. This book has given me some great tools and ideas on how to make this a reality. I definitely recommend checking this one out – BONUS it looks like it’s free on Kindle right now. πŸ™‚

5. Jenna Moreci’s YouTube
Jenna Moreci’s YouTube is jam packed with advice on writing, marketing, and Q&A’s. She also answers your questions through twitter and Tumblr.

6. Kim Chance’s YouTube
Kim Chance is another YouTuber who dishes out super useful advice on the writing world.

7. Well-Storied
This site has fantastic resources – some that are free and some you can buy. Free writing tutorials, novel planning, and a Facebook group (which I have joined) where you can connect with other writers, ask questions and give advice.

8. NaNoWriMo
The NaNoWriMo site is always a great place to go, even when it’s not November. The forum is still pretty active and people are very friendly and willing to give out advice/inspiration/etc.

9. AllPoetry.com
This is a fantastic place to go if you’re writing poetry. It has loads of useful resources on publishing and writing, and you can post your poetry and receive honest feedback. If you click around, there are places to write short stories as well to get some feedback on.

10. GoodReads


Not exactly a writing resource, but as a writer you should be an avid reader as well. I love Goodreads – it allows me to set reading goals for myself, share what I am reading, review and read reviews, etc. It’s a great place to find some new books to read and challenge yourself to be a more avid reader.

That’s all I have for you today. If you have any useful books/sites/etc you use for inspiration or tips, feel free to leave them in the comments below.

I still haven’t taken down Chapter One of Alter Reach – you can read that here.

As always, if you want to stay up to date with me, you can follow me on Twitter & Instagram @JessicaInspired, and like my facebook page.

I hope you have a fantastic weekend!

Until next time –
Jessica

5 thoughts on “Writing Resources I Find Useful

Leave a Reply

