Arrival – Movie Review

Hi everyone! I hope you’re having a great week. Today’s blog post was supposed to be yesterday’s blog post but, Netflix is an addiction sometimes…whoops. Anyway, today I will be reviewing the movie Arrival, which I have been waiting to see since the trailer came out. We were supposed to see it in theaters, but never got around to it. It was finally available on Vudu, so my husband and I watched it the other night.

**As always, I will attempt to keep this as spoiler free as possible, but it’s best to watch the movie before reading if you want to go in blind.

Synopsis:
(Taken from IMDB)

When twelve mysterious spacecraft appear around the world, linguistics professor Louise Banks is tasked with interpreting the language of the apparent alien visitors.

I have never seen an alien invasion movie done like this. If you’re going in thinking this is going to be filled with explosions, gun fire and excitement, you’re incorrect.It’s exciting in its own right, but it’s much more intelligent and thought provoking, with a pretty fantastic twist I never saw coming.

Arrival-Teaser-Trailer.jpg

Arrival sets itself up to be a film about aliens invading Earth,but it’s more about the human race than the aliens, touching on themes like general public manipulation via media, science versus culture, and how easy/difficult it is to jump over language barriers.

Language is the foundation of civilization.It is the glue that holds a people together. It is the first weapon drawn in a conflict.

This movie has a deliberately slow paced building of tension, which I absolutely love. I LOVE when movies can keep you on the edge of your seat while making you think. This is not a movie that relies on sex or violence. The small bits of violence are not gore fests, and serve a purpose other than to gross or shock the audience. There is a romance subplot, but it doesn’t overtake the movie and it’s not something you focus too much on – it’s more of a background piece that keeps the same slow pace the rest of the movie does, making it a much more realistic.

You know I’ve had my head tilted up to the stars for as long as I can remember. You know what surprised me the most? It wasn’t meeting them. It was meeting you.

The visuals in this are absolutely stunning. There are some scenes that just blew my mind. Those alien space ships were so realistic looking, I forgot they weren’t real sometimes. It’s not a very vibrant color pallet, and I think the muted cinematography brings forth an element of realism other alien invasion movies lack. As with the slowed pace of the movie, the muted tones help keep you in the zone, thinking your way through a complex and beautiful plot.

arrival-movie.png

I LOVE this movie. I haven’t been this excited about a film in a long time. I highly recommend it.

RATING: 5/5 ☆

Thank you for reading, I appreciate all the support! Let me know if you’ve seen the movie. I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

I still haven’t taken down Chapter One of Alter Reach – you can read that here.

As always, if you want to stay up to date with me, you can follow me on Twitter & Instagram @JessicaInspired, and like my facebook page.

Until next time –
Jessica

2 thoughts on “Arrival – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

