13 Reasons Why – TV Show Review

Hey everyone! Happy Good Friday!

Today’s post is a review of the Netflix original and emotional roller coaster, 13 Reasons Why. I distinctly remember watching the trailer a couple days before this show was released and thinking, “I definitely need to watch that.” And I’m glad I did.

As always, this is intended to be a spoiler free review but I would suggest watching the show before reading this review.

Synopsis (Taken from IMDB)

Clay Jensen (Dylan Minnette) returns home from school one day to find a box with his name on it, lying on the porch. Upon investigation, he finds cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker (Katherine Langford), his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

13 Reasons Why is based on the novel by Jay Asher (which I have not  read, but intend to at some point).

Hello boys and girls. Hannah baker here. Live and in stereo. No return engagements, no encore, and this time absolutely no requests. I hope you’re ready, because I’m about to tell you the story of my life. More specifically, why it ended. And if you’re listening to these tapes, you’re one of the reasons why.

Review

I watched this show shortly after it was released on Netflix. I wasn’t feeling well and decided I needed a show to binge watch. What a show to pick. Emotional roller-coaster doesn’t really explain this show. I’m going to start this review off by saying that this show is very hard to swallow. The first few episodes are sad, because you know you’re listening to a recording of a girl’s suicide note…but as the episodes continue, things get harder and harder to watch.

The cast of characters are fantastic. Every single actor nailed their parts with such precision, I sometimes forgot I was watching a TV show. Clay is an interesting character. His character is a picture-perfect representation of a kid who sees bullying but doesn’t do much to help or change the situation. Hannah Baker is also a very dynamic character. She’s smart, witty and pretty. Someone you wouldn’t think would have a difficult time in school, but it goes to show you, you don’t know what’s going on in someone’s life.

It has to get better. The way we treat each other and look out for each other. It has to get better somehow.

The emotional turmoil I felt watching this show was unlike anything I’ve watched before. This isn’t the first TV show/movie to showcase a character who is relentlessly bullied at school to the point of self-harm, but this is a very unique take on it. Hannah’s decision to create cassette tapes to speak on 13 reasons for her suicide is heartbreaking. As I said earlier…her first few reasons were sad, but nothing close to what is later revealed.

This show also does something else that is pretty interesting. Some of things that Hannah says compared to what the characters that are still around say differ in certain situations. It causes you as a viewer to question who is lying. You don’t want the thought that a girl who committed suicide made this all up, but you’re also left wondering – is it possible she did?

Why would a dead girl lie?

This show left some very interesting questions. There is speculation of a second season, but I am not sure if it has been confirmed. I hope there is.

Final thoughts

I think this show is fantastic, disturbing, beautiful, and heart wrenching. It is a show that will stay with you for a long time and make you think about the way you treat others. I think it has some very important lessons that are good for anyone, of any age – although, with the graphic nature of some of the later episodes, I wouldn’t recommend if for every age.

RATING: 5/5 ☆

Let me know what you thought of the show. Also, let me know what your plans are for Easter. Quick announcement, since Sunday is Easter and I will be spending my day in Church and with family, “Jessica’s Weekly Poetry Post” will be posted Saturday afternoon instead of Sunday.

You can read Chapter One of Alter Reach here.

As always, if you want to stay up to date with me, you can follow me on Twitter & Instagram @JessicaInspired, and like my facebook page.

Don’t forget to check out my review of Kong: Skull Island Review with my husband on YouTube!

HAPPY EASTER! I hope you enjoy your weekend! 🙂

Until next time –
Jessica

One thought on “13 Reasons Why – TV Show Review

Leave a Reply

