Split – Movie Review

Hello! I have been waiting to see this movie since the trailer was dropped. I’m a huge fan of most of Shyamalan’s movies, and thriller movies like this are right up my alley.

Before we get into it, please note that I will do my best not to spoil this film, but I think it’s best if you watch it before you read anything on it. I went in completely blind because I knew there would be twist and turns I wouldn’t have wanted to know before watching. I think that worked out in my favor. You’ve been warned.

Synopsis:

Three girls are kidnapped by a man with a diagnosed 23 distinct personalities, they must try to escape before the apparent emergence of a frightful new 24th.  – Written & directed by M. Night Shyamalan.

Review:

Alright, so Split has some fricken incredible actors who portray some very believable characters, and I’m going to do a brief overview of some of them.

The human brain is the most complex object in the universe.

Betty Buckly plays a psychologist named Dr. Karen Fletcher who is desperately trying to understand and communicate with Kevin (played by James McAvoy). Kevin has 23 distinct personalities and Fletcher is attempting to figure out how his brain works and how to help him. She is very convincing and plays an incredibly important part in this movie. As she attempts to learn about Kevin’s condition, some mysteries begin to unravel and it’s just compelling to watch her.

There’s a flower on the pillows, a flower in the bathroom, like we’re important.

Anya Taylor-Joy plays Casey, one of the three girls abducted. She is a very interesting and intricate character. She is not a person you will understand right away – she’s more of a puzzle and the farther you get into this movie, the more you understand why she is the way she is.

Are you trying to trick me? I’ll tell on you.

James McAvoy plays Kevin, a man with 23 distinct personalities. He was incredible. I can’t give this guy enough credit for the role he played. Each personality is so unique, and distinguishable that I never questioned who he was when he walked on screen. McAvoy truly gave his all in this performance, and it pays off. I can imagine attempting to portray one person in a movie is difficult, and McAvoy pulls this off over and over again with very unique characters.

This movie looks incredible. The camera work is amazing – some of the unique angles and shots make for a very interesting ride for the viewer. The tones are dark and dank, and when we are watching the girls or McAvoy’s character, you really feel like you’re in a dangerous area. The score of this movie is also interesting. It is so subtle at times, you barely notice it’s there. It just adds to the dark, claustrophobic feel the lighting and camera work gives you.

This movie knows when to make you laugh and when to make you nervous. I won’t go into much detail here, for fear of spoiling, but the film does a really good job of letting you know what emotions you should be feeling. It also does a fantastic job leaving you on the edge of your seat. You are given just enough information to push the plot forward, but it keeps you waiting until the very end to give you the answers you seek. This is what, I think, makes a thriller a good thriller. The ability to hold back enough to keep you sitting there for the entire two hours.

He’s done awful things to people and he’ll do awful things to you.

Another upside to this movie was its lack of gore. I think I’ll be making a more in depth blog post about today’s movie’s use of gore and sex rather than characterization and plot to sell movies, but this isn’t the time or place to get into it. I enjoyed the fact that there was very little gore. There were cringe-worthy scenes, but nothing so over the top. I enjoy movies that have the ability to shock you without sickening you.

The downsides to this movie are more of my own personal downsides that I can’t get into without spoiling everything. I might make a spoiler review in the future where I discuss it, but for now, I will just say that there was some info I wish I had known going in.

Wrap Up:

This movie is fantastic. I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a movie that makes you work for the answers rather than making it easy.

RATING: 5/5 ☆

Let me know what you thought of Split in the comments below.

You can still read Chapter One of Alter Reach here.

As always, if you want to stay up to date with me, you can follow me on Twitter & Instagram @JessicaInspired, and like my facebook page.

Don’t forget to check out my review of Kong: Skull Island Review with my husband on YouTube!

Until next time –

Jessica

2 thoughts on “Split – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

