Opposite Books Tag

Hi everyone! I hope your week is going okay! I wanted to do a quick tag I saw on YouTube. I tag you if you’d like to participate, just let me know so I can read your responses!

First book in your collection/Last book you bought

I believe the first book I ever bought was The Silver Kiss by Annette Kurtos Klause. I rented it from the library in middle school, read it in one night and then asked for it for my birthday. 

The last book I book I bought was Gone by Michael Grant. I bought it on a whim in a great little used book store. I’ll review it when I get to it. 

A cheap book/An expensive book


I just picked up The Grim Legacy by Polly Shulman from the same book store I bought Gone from. I believe it was $3.

For my expensive book, I’m going to go with Illuminae by Amie Kauffman and Jay Kristoff…not because the book was super expensive, but because between the hardcover copy and the audible copy, I spent more than I ever have.

A book with a male protagonist/a book with a female protagonist

Male protagonist: The Maze Runner by James Dashner. 

Female protagonist: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

A book you read fast/A book that took you forever to read

A book that I read quickly: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I actually read this series in three days. 

A book that took me forever: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R. R. Tolkien. I actually really enjoyed this book but it wasn’t an easy read for me, so it took me quite a while to get through. 

Pretty cover/Ugly cover 

Pretty cover: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor. I bought this mainly because the cover drew me in. So beautiful. 

Ugly cover: The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. Eh. I’m just not a fan. I find it a little predictable and boring.

A national book/An international book

I’m guessing this means a book that takes place where you live versus a book that takes place in another country. 

National: Eve The Awakening by Jenna Moreci. This book takes place at a college in California. 

International: Harry Potter. Sorry for the obvious answer but, hey, it works. 

 A thin book/A thick book

A thin book: Wake by Lisa McMan

A thick book: A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

A fiction book/A non-fiction book

Fiction: Cinder by Marissa Meyer. A fairytale retelling with sci-fi elements, which I haven’t read yet, because I am so far behind on my TBR. Are you surprised? I’m guessing not. 😛

Non-Fiction: Creation Basics & Beyond by a lot of scientists at th Institute of Creation Research. A really interesting look at science from a biblical stand point. 

Very romantic book/Action book

I don’t own a ton of romantic books, but I will go with Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. The main plot of this series is love, so it fits, I guess. 

Action…I will go with Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. It’s about criminals trying to pull off the greatest heist. Action packed!

A book that made you happy/A book that made you sad

A book that made me happy: I want to go with Illuminae again. Not because it’s a super happy story, but because it was such a good book, I’m still on a high and I read it almost a year ago. Haha. 

A book that made me sad…I will go with another non-fiction on my shelf. My Story by Elizabeth Smart. Elizabeth Smart was kidnapped by two pretty sick individuals and she writes about what happened during that time. Ugh…such a difficult book to read. 

 

That’s all I have for you tonight. Good news everyone, tomorrow is Thursday. We are very close to Friday! Don’t forget to let me know if you participate in the tag. I will have another movie review for you next blog, so stay tuned for that!

You can still read Chapter One of Alter Reach here.

As always, if you want to stay up to date with me, you can follow me on Twitter & Instagram @JessicaInspired, and like my facebook page.

Until next time –
Jessica

Leave a Reply

