Homeward Bound Review

Hey everyone!

I hope your week is moving along quickly. Quick recap, The Who was fantastic. If you get a chance to see them, definitely do it.

Anyway, I’m doing a fun review today. My husband and I were scrolling through Netflix last night, and came across Homeward Bound. My husband revealed he had never seen it before so I jumped at the chance to watch it with him. I watched this movie a ton when I was little.

Watching it with adult eyes was pretty entertaining, but I think the story and movie stand the test of time. It’s heartwarming, funny and uplifting.

If you didn’t know, this movie is Disney’s 1993 remake of the 1963 hit The Incredible Journey. It follows three pets: Chance, the mischievous Bulldog; Shadow, the wise Golden Retriever; and Sassy, the classy Himalayan cat. After the three mistakenly believe they have been abandoned by their humans, they set out on an adventure to find their way home.

Something doesn’t smell right. They’ve been gone way too long. Much longer than they should have been. Something’s really wrong. – Shadow

Each animal has a distinct personality, and of course, we can hear their thoughts.

Shadow is the logical, leader of the group. He is the one who decides to go out in search of their humans. He remains calm and collected, even through some of the trying times of their adventure.

You’ve learned everything you need, Chance. – Shadow

Sassy is sarcastic and a bit prissy at times. But she is also very loyal. She gets the dogs out of quite a few messes during their adventures. Her one liners are great.

Was that my sixth life? I’ll just say it was my fourth. – Sassy

Chance is our main character. He starts the movie off as the main narrator, explaining that for quite a while he lived on the street, until he was ‘captured,’ and taken to the pound. Eventually, he is adopted by the Seaver family, but doesn’t quite understand family. It’s mostly his journey we watch, as he grows in his maturity.

I learned an important lesson that day: cake and polyester don’t mix. – Chance

As silly of a concept as it sounds, the voices are well done. The animal’s behaviors match perfectly to the script and it moves the plot forward. This story is definitely character driven. The plot wouldn’t be as fun without the three animals.

Bolder dash! You’re seeing things!

Overall, this is a fantastic children’s movie. I definitely plan to show it to my kids some day. If you haven’t seen it, go watch it! It’s on Netflix. 😀

RATING: 5/5 ☆

Let me know what you thought in the comments!

If you want to stay up to date with me, you can follow me on Twitter & Instagram @JessicaInspired, and like my facebook page – @authorjessicarachow.

Until next time –

Jessica

Leave a Reply

