It – Movie Review

Hello everyone! I hope you had a great Saturday. I saw IT tonight, and couldn’t wait to get home and write a review.

As always, I will try not to spoil, but you should see the movie first if you want to go in without knowing anything.

Enjoy 😊

Summary

IT follows a group of bullied kids, dubbed as “The Losers Club,” living the town of Derry, Maine, in the summer of 1989. After recent cases of disappearing local kids, including Georgie, main character Bill’s little brother, the group discovers a terrifying, shape-shifting, demonic clown, Pennywise, who feeds on fear.

Review:

You’ll float too!

I love Stephen King’s work. His writing is brilliant, and his novels, manage to give me nightmares with just words on a page. The same cannot be said for most of the movie adaptations of his work. Until now. In my opinion, IT ranks among the best King movie adaptions so far.

The first chapter of IT is set during the main characters’ early years and is led by some super talented young actors. Jaeden Lieberher (Bill), Finn Wolfhard (Richie), Jeremy Ray Taylor (Ben), Sophia Lillis (Beverly), Wyatt Oleff (Stanley), and Chosen Jacobs (Mike).

These kids are FANTASTIC. The chemistry among the group felt authentic. It very much reminded me of the kids in Stranger Things. The character development was strong and each character stood on their own as an important member of the group. I enjoyed how the film gave us just enough back story to give us an understanding, but never spent too much time focusing on one specific character. We were able to love and know each individual, which made watching their experiences that much more terrifying.

Speaking of terrifying. Let’s talk a little about Bill Skarsgard as Pennywise, the demonic clown who feeds on fear. Holy crap. He delivers an intense and frightening character who never ceases to scare. A clown could easily fall pray to cheesy and funny, but not Pennywise. There isn’t a single moment where you feel like this is a friendly clown. His facial expressions, voice and lines are all equally scary. Skarsgard definitely did his job in this movie.

I give this film a lot of credit. The special effects never felt forced. A little weird sometimes, but I was on the edge of my seat the entire movie. The movie didn’t rely on gore for scares, which I love. Hack and slash doesn’t scare me, it just makes me nauseous. I enjoyed that this film didn’t need to hack up someone to make me afraid of IT.

Going back to the kids for a second, I have to give some credit to the script. I loved how the film would get super intense or gloomy, and then one of the kids would say something hysterical to give you a little breather before jumping right back into scary mode. I also loved how there were minimal fake jump scares. For the most part, if the music got intense, the movie delivered a scare.

The movie was on the long side, but that didn’t bother me at all. We were able to get a well rounded and well paced movie. I enjoyed that the ending, while leaving the story open, didn’t leave us with a cliffhanger.

As I said in the beginning, this is one of the best Stephen King adaptations I have ever seen. I’m really looking forward to the second chapter of IT.

Rating:

5/5 ☆

What did you think of IT? Let me know in the comments below.

SOCIAL MEDIA

Twitter: @JessicaInspired
Instagram: @JessicaInspired
Facebook: @AuthorJessicaRachow
Goodreads

Need to contact me? Email me: jessicarachow15@gmail.com

One thought on “It – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

